What We Do

Founded in 1987, Blue Ridge Arts Council, Inc. is a 501 (C) 3 designated non-profit arts and education organization that primarily serves residents of Front Royal/Warren County. Our program areas encompass Arts Education, Art Exhibitions and Community Partnerships.

The arts council coordinates several gallery spaces throughout the county, and exhibits and sells fine art by local and regional artists. Music and Art Lessons are offered at our Main Street Gallery throughout the week. Each summer the council presents “Gazebo Gatherings,” a summer concert series held at the Town Commons each Friday evening at 7pm, June through August.  Special events throughout the year include Cocktails and Canvas, a twice a year Art, Food and Cocktail Pairing Tasting Event, our Annual Arts Citizen of the Year Dinner and Roast, and the annual community holiday kick-off event Deck the Halls (held the 3rd Friday/Saturday November).

For a majority of the local community, Blue Ridge Arts Council is primary arts resource. The Arts Council has a staff and a community based board that research, plan, implement and review each program offered by the Council. Funding for our work is received, in part, from Virginia Commission for the Arts (a statewide organization that awards crucial operating support funds) and a matching grant program that our local governments partner in. The balance of the budget is funded through memberships, individual and corporate donations.

Our Mission

The mission of Blue Ridge Arts Council is to provide a broad base of support for the visual and performing arts, in all segments of the community, by increasing awareness, interest, knowledge and participation.

Board of Directors (July 2017-June 2018)

President – Mary Ruth Alred Follett
Vice President – Lorraine Hultquist
Treasurer – Jennifer Patton
Secretary – Katie Tewell
Past President – Sondra LeHew


Avie Megeath Aleshire 
Teresa Henry                                                                                                       
Nancy LeHew Krogsund                                
Dan Lenz                                  
Rhonda McDaniel
Karen McIntyre
Susan O’Kelly
Mary Powers
Richard Runyon                
Linda Taylor